Home > Staff
Home > Staff


SBRU Staff Members


Affiliates are UCT and non-UCT academic and non-academic staff who either have some skill or material that they wish to contribute to the unit or who see that their research could benefit in some way by affiliating with the Unit.

UCT affiliates:

  • Dr Gerhard Venter – Senior Lecturer in the Department of Chemistry
  • Dr Jason van Rooyen – eResearch Analyst
  • Professor Roger Hunter – Professor in the Department of Chemistry
  • Professor Valerie Abratt – Associate Professor in the Department of Molecular and Cell Biology
  • Professor Joe Eyerman - Head of Computer-Aided Drug Design (CADD) at H3-D

Non-UCT affiliates:

  • Professor Wolf-Dieter Schubert – Professor of Structural Biology, University of Pretoria
  • Professor Helen Saibil, FRS – Bernal Professor of Structural Biology, Department of Biological Sciences, Birkbeck College, University of London
  • Dr Arvind Varsani – Senior Lecturer in Microbiology, University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Dr Musa Mhlanga – Head of the Emerging Research Area, Synthetic Biology, CSIR Biosciences
  • Dr Dirk Opperman –Lecturer, Microbial Biochemical and Food Biotechnology, University of the Free State
  • Professor Alberdina van Dijk – Professor of Biochemistry, University of the North-West, Potchefstroom
  • Dr Dean Brady – CSIR Biosciences
  • Dr Justin Jordaan – CSIR Biosciences
  • Professor Edward Egelman – Professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics, University of Virginia
  • Professor Michael Benedik – Professor in the Department of Biology, Texas A&M University
  • apl. Prof Dr Markus Piotrowski – Department of Plant Physiology, Ruhr University, Bochum
  • apl. Prof Dr Andreas Stolz – Institute for Microbiology, University of Stuttgart
  • Dr Hassan Belrhali – Beamline Scientist, EMBL, Grenoble
  • Dr Alan Roseman – Lecturer in Biological Electron Cryo-Microscopy, Faculty of Life Sciences, University of Manchester
  • Dr Jason van Rooyen – EMBL, Grenoble
  • Dr Christiaan Potgieter – Researcher at Deltamune
  • Professor Sarah Butcher - Centre of Excellence in Virus Research, Institute of Biotechnology, University of Helsinki
  • Dr JC Gumbart – Research Assistant, Argonne National Laboratory